UGH….

Things aren’t going to be easy in these upcoming weeks.  Nope.  Not in the slightest.  I’ve found myself thinking all day/night of what I can do to help my Dad.

My Dad isn’t the type of person to want to burden anyone.  Not that he is a burden, but taking on the responsibility of another human being can become difficult on any family, both financially and emotionally.  Thankfully, I married the most family oriented man, EVER!

Last night when I called to check in with my Dad he informed me that he needed his birth certificate.  Well, he didn’t have it.  I called my Mom to see if she had it, and she did not.  I sent a few emails checking with his sister and for her to ask her Mom and nope, nobody had it.  Without hesitation, me and my husband ordered a new one.  Not cheap to say the least, but it’s the least thing we can do to help.

When Eli woke me up at 1am for his feeding, I found myself thinking of the words Dad said to me, “I’m trying to build a nest.  I know I cannot work once Chemo starts, and I’m not much of a saver.”  Well, I’m sure I get that trait from him, and I’m not much of a saver either, BUT….I married a man who has taught me to save.  He is a saver and makes me stay in check 🙂   So I began making a mental list of all the things I could give to my Dad to help him get by these next few weeks/months.

FOOD!  Food is important.  He needs it.  But he’ll also have rent to pay and other bills.  So I made him a care package.  Much like my Grandma used to make for me and my Mom and brother when my DAD left our family.  HA.  Funny how that works right?  My Dad left and we needed food in our bellies.  My Gram would NEVER let us go hungry.  Nope.  Never.  She also would NEVER allow our mortgage to not be paid or any other bills.  And then there is my Aunt Bunny, who I called on MORE than one occasion saying, “I need a new backpack/shoes/bathing suit.”  And within days the check would arrive and my Mom would take us shopping.

I guess it’s Oprah’s form of “Pay it Forward,” so to speak.  My Dad left, we needed help because of his departure from us, but in all honesty, I feel the need to pay it forward to him or anyone else near and dear to me that might need our help.  Ok, we can’t help too much, I do have 3 kids myself, but something as simple as ordering a birth certificate or making a food package, now that, I can totally handle.  And I’m pretty sure, my kind and loving husband has ZERO problems with. 

Or maybe it’s just because he loves me and would do ANYTHING to see me happy.  Either way, I’ll keep him!  Love and hugs to him.  You will be my rock through all of this.

2 Comments

  1. Lisa Gehrholz said,

    October 2, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Your a great daughter. I lost my dad when I was 13 and it was very hard. I wish you all nothing but the best and good luck with everything.


Leave a Reply

