Potty Training: Day Two

It gets easier folks, I promise! 

It seems so many Mom’s have a hard time potty training.  Either because they are frustrated with the accidents or maybe just because they have other children they have to mind too.  Either way, DON’T GIVE UP.  It’s my only piece of advice.  Once you decide to do it, dedicate yourself.  Make a goal.  Mine has always been one week.  No matter what.  After that, I’ll reevaluate should it be necessary.

Today we woke up at 6:15am, as usual, for a school day.  I asked Ethan if he had to potty, knowing darn well, probably not as his diaper was full from the nights sleep, but he went!  He didn’t go then, but about 20mins later, he said, “Mommy, poo-poo!”  Ran over, and went.  NICE. 

I put a pull up on him just for the ride in the car.  I’m not big on pull ups, he won’t be wearing them when we venture out and about, but for a car ride that is just there and back (while I received a free box from Pull-Ups) I may as well use them.  It was dry upon arrival.  I put him on the potty, nothing.  We walked Ashton inside and stopped at Dunkin Donuts.  I needed breakfast and a decaf iced coffee. 

When we got home Ethan had a DRY pull up.  About 10mins later, he had to use the potty and I noticed he spilled my FULL iced coffee all over the floor, sniff.  But he made it to the potty.  That’s what counts these days.

About an hour or two later he just ran into the bathroom without a word.  He sat down and I watched him in the mirror, he was looking down.  I knew something happened.  In about 10seconds flat he stood up and shouted, “Mama!!!  Poo-Poo!!!!”  And was pointing as his MASTERPIECE!  This was no small poo.  It was big.  A nice Ethan size 😉

Yes, I took a picture.  No, I’m not posting it on the web.  But I did text it to Daddy, my Mom, and a good friend of mine who made me promise to never send her photos like that ever again….sorry Lindsay.  By the way, you can pre-order her first published cook book at Amazon.com.

Ok, so back to Ethan….he pooped.  He pee’d.  It all was in the potty.  No accidents today.  I’m proud.  I’m MORE than proud.  I’m STOKED! 

Tomorrow, I’ll stop pumping him with juices (although today I only did it at the beginning of the day with one glass), we’ll go back to our normal drinking water routine, and I’m going to TRY to sit back and let him tell ME when he needs to go.  He’ll have his new Thomas the Train under-roo’s on, which he calls Choo-Choo’s, and we’ll hopefully have just as a pleasant day as yesterday and today.

Ethan, if you’re reading this one day, I love you sweetie, and you sure have made us proud!!!

1 Comment

  1. March 30, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    After you sent me that special delivery I realized I deserved it because I once dragged mama shay all the way to the bathroom to look at a giant log I’d left in the toilet… and I was much older than 2.


Leave a Reply

