What’s your resolution?

I’ll admit, I’m not one to ‘keep’ my resolution(s).  But, last year, I surprised myself.  I made 2 resolutions. 

*work out 5-6 days a week. 

*be a vegetarian for at least ONE MONTH…now, 12 months later 😉

Do you want to know my secret?  I didn’t say I wanted to do either one, forever.  I took it week by week.  For the vegetarian thing, I honestly told myself, one week.  One week turned to two, turned into a month, turned into a YEAR and going strong.

Working out.  Well I’ve always went up and down in weight.  Always, just me.  Just part of being a girl, I suppose.  And although I didn’t find myself overweight, I was at pre-pregnancy weight, I was just a bit bummed about how I looked.  And you know, we can all stand to lose a pound or two, or 25lbs in my case 😉  So I told myself, I’d work out EVERYDAY until it became a habit.  A habit.  Now, my friend Lindsay has probably told me 1000x that it takes 6wks for FORM a habit.  What’s 6wks?  A LONG TIME….A HARD LONG TIME!!!

Sure, whatever.  Right?  So I set out to make my goal.  I first joined Shapes, an all girls gym, on December 31, 2008.  Yes, on NEW YEARS EVE.  I worked out with a trainer that day.  She only made me stay for 30mins, and honestly, I think that is all I could take.  I had a GREAT friend who started her workout regiment about a year prior and she was my inspiration.  I knew I could do it with friends like Lindsay and Monique behind me.  So I went to them.  Often.  For advice and help.  They were always there.  My own personal cheerleaders.

So I worked out, daily.  7 days a week.  Started at one hour a day and the pounds came off.  5lbs a month was pretty average, but the measurements were amazing!  When I’d try some clothes from college and it finally fit again, I was a NEW woman.  A new Tara.  I was finally addicted to working out.

In April I had a misfortune in the childcare department at Shapes and packed my kids up and joined the YMCA.  Best decision EVER.  Sure, it’s more costly.  But the atmosphere is just what I needed.  I love it there.  By now, I’m going to the gym 6 days a week.  And 4 of those days, for 2hours a day!!!

I remember when we went away to Navarre in June.  I was scared.  VERY scared.  I had to workout.  I couldn’t give up.  I researched where all the Y’s were before we left and even spoke to my cousin on what I could do in the neighborhood.  Well, I proved myself a success again.  I worked out 5 of the 7 days I was there and I could not have been more pleased.

So that brings me to January 2010.  I’m still workingout.  I’m still pretty fit, although I’d still like to lose another 10lbs.  Who wouldn’t?  But you know, I’m very pleased where I am.  I’m very proud of what I’ve worked so hard for.  And maybe one day I’ll see those 10lbs off, but it’s doubtful that it will come off like the previous 25lbs.

So I sit here wondering what should I make my resolution this year?  This is what I’ve come up with…

*More patience with my children.  A hard one, but they are worth it.

*Continue working out at least 5 days a week.  No less than one hour a day.

*Continue the Vegetarian lifestyle, and when in doubt, remind myself of the reasons I’ve stayed a Vegetarian this long, is because of the health benefits that have been proven for MY BODY.  Nobody else, but my own.

So leave me a comment.  Tell me your resolution.  I’d love to hear it.  I’ll be your cheerleader…even if you don’t need one.  I love to see people meet their goals.  No matter how big or small.  I’ll be proud to stick by you, even when times are tough.  And if you need a workout partner, I’m here.  I’m a gal that LOVES to chat.  So jump on that treadmill next to me, and we’ll make the time pass, super fast 😉  I PROMISE!

Lastly, thank you to my family.  It hasn’t been easy on my family.  My choice to go to the gym daily requires setting the time aside.  It required me to train Ethan to leave Mommy’s side for a couple hours, he’ll be fine.  It requires waking up at 5am to hit the pavement when the kids are sick, can’t bring sick kids to the gym.  It even required my family and friends to change meal plans.  You should see my Mom plan a meal for me.  It’s cute.  It really is.  It usually ends up being Eggplant Parm…my FAVORITE.  But today when I’m super sick, she probably didn’t think she could make chicken soup minus the chicken, because that would be weird to her.  Not to me.  So she made her SUPER SICK daughter, Eggplant Parm.  God love her.  And I’ll enjoy that meal, when my taste buds work again 😉

So to all my cheerleaders…THANK YOU!  Now people, get to working on those resolutions.  We have a goal to make!!!!

2 Comments

  1. January 4, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    to finish my damn cookbook. lol.

    i am so proud of you! you are such an inspiration. I went vegan as an “experiment” — at any time, I could go back to being a vegetarian and here I am, three years later, happy as can be. I lost weight, I feel better, I look better, I don’t have digestive problems anymore… I think that is key. You have to be REAL with yourself.

    This year my goals are the usual ones, to be happy, make time for myself, to have more patience with others and to make good choices. I’d love to say I’ll work out 365 days this year, or I’ll run another marathon, or I’ll squeeze into a 0 or get down to 120 lbs, but that’s not being real with myself. So, like you, I have smaller goals. Right now? finish this cookbook. Next? I think I’d try to actually do a cleanse — from start to finish without cheating 🙂

  2. Monique said,

    January 4, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    I’m still just as proud of you today as I was back then! Nice work, Tara!


Leave a Reply

