4 years ago today…(updated with photo!)

I gave birth to a beautiful baby boy named, Ashton Thomas.  

This morning Daddy reminded me that at 7am, 4 years ago today, I was making French Toast, counting contractions.  They were 2 minutes apart.  I counted them for about 14mins and finally filled him in on what was taking place inside of me.  This also happened to be my due date. 

After T found out about my little surprise, he quickly rushed me to the computer chair and said, “Sit down, relax, and call Dr. Matthews.”  Well our doctor just so happened to be on call (it was a Sunday) and he said, “Looks like we’ll be having a baby today!”  We were stoked.  But first, I had to shower.  T thought I had lost my mind.  Why on earth would a woman want to shower before going into the hospital?  Well, because I’m a girl.  And that’s how we do things. 

So today, 4years later, at 7am, I was following clothes.  Big boy clothes.  Size 5T.  Yes, yes, that is what I was doing.  This is only after I jumped out of bed at 5:40am to take a shower.  Something I don’t usually do at that hour.  I had to shower since I’m going to be in Ashton’s class all day, and then we will have a sleep over with Auntie Aja and Howie.  So I’m a bit busy today.  So when Ashton woke up at 5:45am, he stumbled into my bathroom.  Rubbing his eyes, very unalert (is that even a word?), and I busted out in song…Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday dear Ashton, Happy Birthday to you.  He was so excited he kissed me through the glass shower door. 

Ashton, my dear, you are my baby.  You will always be MY baby.  You have grown into a sweet caring little boy who would do anything and everything for your younger brother, Ethan.  This makes both me and your Daddy very happy.  We love the bond that you two share and we look forward to the years to come.  Keep reaching for the stars, asking all the questions your little brain thinks of, and keep being y0u.  We love you!!!!  xoxoxoxox

And a photo of the brothers from bright an early this am…

001

Notice the dog in the picture?  Yeah, that’s Kilo.  Our Chihuahua.  He is almost 11 years old and he sits in that spot all day, every day.  Love you Kilo 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Monique said,

    October 30, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    Have a very happy, happy birthday, Ashton!!

  2. sara said,

    October 30, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Happy Birthday Ashton!!!


Leave a Reply

