He was one of the "good guys!"

Patrick Swayze, that is.

I’m amazed by how much I actually am sadden by the loss of this man. I can remember, clear as day, summer of my 6th grade year. My friend Lisa was over my house everyday that summer taking care of me. I had to have surgery on my toes, it was rough. I couldn’t walk for about 6wks, or at least, that is how long it seemed in a little girls eyes.

My Mom had recorded Dirty Dancing. I’m not sure when she allowed me to watch it for the first time, but I can remember that summer and there was not a single day that went by where I did not watch that movie with Lisa. I’m sure Lisa is out there somewhere in this world, remembering this same story. It was what we did. She’d come over in the morning, we’d play, have lunch, and watch Dirty Dancing. Those were the days.

Secretly, I had my first man-crush on Patrick Swayze. He was so dreamy. The way he danced with Jennifer Gray is a way I’ll never forget. Never. My obsession with this movie went well on to my grown years. I actually have the movie on DVD, limited edition version. I was involved in music and dancing in school, I wanted to play Jennifer on Broadway. I swear, I had BIG plans to be dancing with Patrick one day. I really did.

Although, I’ve since met my Prince Charming, I never stopped believing that Patrick was, “one of the good guys!” He was. You didn’t see dirt in the tabloids about him. You didn’t hear of him cheating on his wife. You didn’t hear of him taking drugs or burning through his money like he had trees growing green bills on them. Nope. He was a “good guy!”

Patrick, I never thought in my wildest dreams that I would feel the urge to blog over the loss of an actor. A person I never really knew. But you are different. I felt that connection with you. It was almost as you were speaking to me through your dancing. You are an amazing man. One who will never be forgotten.

Lisa Swayze, I hope you find comfort in knowing how wonderful of a husband you have had for a fabulous 34years. I pray that you find comfort in knowing that he is no longer suffering. I pray that you work through this time of sorrow and are able to become even stronger than you have been through these past 21months of dealing with this terrible cancer that Patrick was living with.

May God Bless Patrick and all his friends and family that love and miss him.

2 Comments

  1. happyherbivore.com said,

    September 16, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Girls of our generation watched one of two movies to the point of insanity: Grease or DD. You and I were DD girls and will always be. To this day I still can sing, from heart, and without even hearing a beat, every song word-for-word from that movie.

  2. Barbara said,

    September 17, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    What a wonderful post in honor of an amazing soul. I grew up with Dirty Dancing too and still get excited to see it on TV.

    I'll never forget him.


Leave a Reply

