Vegetarian? Protein!!!!! Vegetarian, really? Why?

Have you ever had a question asked to you so many times it becomes utterly annoying?

For me, it’s the question, “You’re a vegetarian, well you need protein, so what do you eat? And WHY????”

I don’t walk up to people and ask them why they don’t enjoy beans, broccoli, tofu, or anything else for that matter. And I never say to anyone who eats steak, WHY WOULD YOU EAT THAT?

So why is it that so many people harp on protein. I workout 6x a week for approximately 2 hours a day. I eat PLENTY of protein. Have you ever looked at the nutritional values on the products you are consuming daily?

Soy Milk has about 9gms of protein in one cup. Beans have about 13gms in one cup. The list goes on. I eat plenty of protein. You can look at my muscles and know that they are being replenished and I’m definitely not starving myself.

My friend, the Happy Herbivore, has recently become a writer for examiner.com. She is always taking suggestions on what to write. She LOVES to write, and she writes all about vegetarianism and veganism. I’m pretty sure most people don’t “really” know what is out there for a vegetarian/vegan and I’m also pretty sure most people don’t even know what it really means to be a vegetarian or a vegan. As for one, I’m a vegetarian. Yes, that means, I eat NO MEAT. So why do people ALWAYS ask if I eat fish? Isn’t that part of meat? People simply do not know what the word, vegetarian, means.

So in asking for suggestions on what to write, I told Lindsay, an article on protein would be GREAT! She jumped right on it. She has probably heard it a million times more than me, as she has been a vegan for quit some time and I’ve only been a vegetarian for 8 months.

Enjoy the article on protein. Not only is it informative, it will probably help you out with food choices. Eating a piece of steak isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Nor is that chicken or pork you are consuming daily. But again, I won’t harp on you, I wouldn’t want you harping on my food choices.

1 Comment

  1. happyherbivore.com said,

    August 25, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    great post, Tara! I have been a vegan for almost 3 yrs and a vegetarian for most of my life. I was a vegetarian all through childhood and most of my teen years and no one ever mentioned or cared about my protein. Then Atkins became a fad diet and protein is all anyone can talk about. I have done my best to debunk the myth with my Examiner.com article you linked to.

    Needing a lot of protein is a misconception and too much protein — esp animal protein can be deadly.

    I too cannot believe that people think protein is only found in meat, eggs and dairy. It's in EVERY thing – fruits, veggies, grains, nuts, beans…

    I also learned recently that there has never been one case of protein deficiency in ANY developed country EVER.

    I too get asked why I don't eat fish — or goat cheese. I don't eat animals or their products, period.


Leave a Reply

