Trying to be green!

So I’m always looking for easy fun ways to be green. Since Ashton started school this week, I thought I’d start first with his lunch box. I have decided that Ashton will never get a paper napkin in his lunch box or have any plastic bags in his box.
What will I do instead? All his lunches will be put inside of reusable plastic containers. Something Daddy has been doing for well over 2 years. I’m pretty cheap when it comes to things that you just throw away and it makes me sick to think I would buy plastic bags to just toss out. So we use Ziploc containers.

As for the napkins, I was really thinking about what I had around the house that would work as a napkin but that I wouldn’t allow him to throw away. I had the perfect idea.

When I was pregnant with Ashton, my Mom blessed me with a fabulous baby shower. I must have received 100 baby washcloths. Seriously, at least a 100. They are so tiny and super soft. But you want to know the crazy thing? I’m not a fan of washcloths. LOL. So I rarely used them on either of my kids. In fact, they are more like cloths that they can play with and pretend to wash the tub with themselves. AT is OCD about cleaning, wonder where he got that from?

So my perfect idea? To place one of these cute little washcloths in his lunch box everyday and for him to bring them back to me to wash and reuse again another day.

We have been doing this for 2 days now, and so far, they have both been returned. I’m diggin’ it. Environmentally friendly, while I save my family a little extra money.

Oh and forget about him buying school lunches. That will never happen.

Just a few moments after posting this a friend of mine suggested Snack Taxi. How cute are these bags? And REUSABLE!!!

GO GREEN!!!

4 Comments

  1. Jenny said,

    August 19, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    When we're not using our Laptop Lunch, I use Snack Taxi reusable bags. AWESOME!

    http://www.snacktaxi.com/

  2. Christi said,

    August 20, 2009 at 12:13 am

    We use these, got a bunch cheap through a coop I run:
    http://www.wrap-n-mat.com/

    Or you could make your own!
    http://www.craftstylish.com/item/43227/how-to-make-a-reusable-sandwich-wrap

  3. Colleen said,

    August 20, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    I LOVED when Paxton had a packed lunch–never happens anymore. Good luck with that =)

  4. Colleen N. said,

    August 20, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    For sandwiches I love the Tupperware sandwich containers.

    http://order.tupperware.com/coe/app/tup_show_item.show_item_detail?fv_item_category_code=7000&fv_item_number=P10055426000


Leave a Reply

