Ashton’s First Day of School

First day of school would NOT be complete without some photos! One thing I’ll never forget about my childhood is standing by the front door, with my new clothes and backpack on, smiling big for my Mom’s camera. So I had to keep the tradition alive and do the same for my peanut.
We got to school pretty early. Mommy was doing a test run to see if she could make it to the gym in time. I know, I’m crazy like that. But since we were so early, I was able to sneak in a photo of me and my big boy. Doesn’t he look so handsome. After we walked into Mrs. Densie’s classroom we notice this cool sign on the door with the kids who were able to make it to the meet and greets, photo. Ashton quickly found his picture and put it right up on the board. I happen to think he is the cutest one on the board. But I’m a bit bias…LOLBefore saying goodbye, I made sure to be able to wish my nephew good luck at his new school with his new teacher. Look at Ashton and Howie…they sure are the best of cousins. At 11:15am it was time to pick AT up from his first day of school. I sat in the car line for what seemed like forever (especially when I want to hear all about his day) and Daddy said, “Go get him!” I think I ran to the gate as fast as I could and this is what I seen.
Ashton, cool as a cucumber (ha…he had those for his snack today at school!) and when he finally seen me, his face lit up. But only when Mrs. Denise said he could come get me, did he run as fast as he could. I got the BEST hug in the world from him. Ashton loved his first day of school. He told us so many wonderful stories and even sang us a song he learned today.

We’re going to the office (library),
We’re going right away.
We’re looking for Chester,
What a wonderful day.

Apparently, Chester is a skunk. A nice skunk. He doesn’t smell and he leaves footprints. So the class went on a walk and looked for him. When they got back to the classroom, Chester left chocolates and little hearts with the letters, BFF on them. They made a cute little poem with their hand-print and the heart on the paper. Of course, Ashton drew his name on it. The poem says something along the lines of when you miss me touch my heart. LOVE IT. I’ll take a picture of it tomorrow for my blog.

Right now, it’s time to snuggle. My BIG boy. Tomorrow is a school day 😉

2 Comments

  1. Sara said,

    August 19, 2009 at 12:58 am

    I KNEW he would have a great day!!!! Here's to many, many more great days at school! 🙂

  2. Chris said,

    September 7, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    Awww…what a cutie! I'm glad he's loving his new school :o)


Leave a Reply

