Glass Shower Doors….

What do I really think of them? They suck! Period. No questions asked. They are ugly, hard to clean, small spaces that make it hard to clean, all in all, they suck. I’m not a fan. In fact, I could go weeks without cleaning them except then I feel like I’m using a bathroom at the Days Inn Hotel, something I would NEVER do.

So why was I cleaning the shower today, besides that fact that it was royally necessary? Yesterday, during my 9hour flip this house upside down while cleaning and dusting everything imaginable, I was cleaning the baseboards in my bathroom (btw, Soft Scrub Spray is amazing for baseboards) I noticed some wet bubbling paint near my shower door. GREAT! Yet another thing…that is how it happens around here, all at once. So I call my handyman of a Daddy and said, “Come over fast!” He comes, thankfully the silicone caulking just needs to be replaced. No biggy, he’ll do it tomorrow.

Anyway, the reason for my blog? If you have the secret how to get those awful shower doors SPARKLING clean, getting the glass see through clean, no water spots at all, then I need your help. I need to know how you do it.

What do I do? I spray the doors down with Pam. Yup, you read that correctly, Pam. I read it on ask.com or somewhere fancy like that on the internet. Then I buy straight razor blades and I get to work. Yes, that is correct. I take the razor blade to every inch on those filthy glass doors and scrap it all off, inch by inch. It literally takes me over 2 hours to clean the shower. Plus, about a gallon of bleach to go along with it.

Thankfully we only have one bathroom in this house with glass doors. The other 2 have lovely shower curtains. Embrace the expensive shower curtains, they are worth every cent! Trust me.

5 Comments

  1. happyherbivore.com said,

    June 30, 2009 at 12:16 am

    death to all soap scum. i tried four cleaners and still it remains! i will need to try ur method stat

  2. Colleen said,

    June 30, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Amen, Sistah! HATE glass shower doors!

  3. Sonya said,

    July 1, 2009 at 2:21 am

    LOL Tara. You would not shower at my house! I use the kaboom and call it a day after a good scrub. You are one dedicated cleaner! but yes, I hate the glass shower doors. Don't think that will be a requirement in my next home.

  4. Hamilton Boys said,

    July 10, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    okay, my secret weapon for those nasty things is a spray bottle that I mix Dawn dishsoap into with some jet dry and lots of water. I don't know the exact measurements, but not too much soap or it won't spray right, and just a splash of jet dry. I spray almost daily (well at least once a week depending on how much mommy-cleaning/showering time I get) to cut back on scum build up. No need to set aside time, just do it as you finish up in the shower;) Just spray it on all over & then take a dish rag and give it a good wash & then pour some water on it and walk away. the jet dry does amazing things to prevent streaks and the Dawn really is the best for scum – think how much it cleans up nasty dishes. Of course I use bleach to kill anything else that may be in the shower, but this on your glass and you'll spend less time all in all.

  5. Anonymous said,

    July 13, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    just use vinegar. it cleans them to a sparkle. no need to spend hours or razor blades on the door. a quick wipe down with vinegar once a week will keep them sparkling.


Leave a Reply

