MOM’s EVERYWHERE!

Were you able to catch Monday’s Oprah on being a Mom? If you were unable to watch, you really should take a few moments to yourself and read up on what was going down. I found myself nodding my head, saying “WOW, that is so me”, or “I couldn’t agree more.” There were also many of things that just made me laugh. Things that I can’t believe actually happen in other families, some of them that happen to us, and some that never even were a thought.

Things I’d like to comment on about the show. First, if you don’t already read the Dooce blog, be sure to bookmark it now. I could hardly believe my ears…this lady makes 40k a MONTH on her blog!!! Wow! Who would have thought a Mommy having a rough time could one day turn her problems into a money making machine? She rocks. She is my hero. Wow! I have a new hero from just learning about her for the brief 10mins of fame she had on Oprah. HA! Her name is Heather, and Heather, if you are reading my blog…I love you!

Second, do Mom’s really not take showers for days at a time? Guess that just isn’t me. Even with my first son Ashton…it was NOT up for discussion, Mama needs a shower and Mama got a shower everyday. Maybe I didn’t doll myself all up nice and pretty, but I most certainly took the time out to unwind in the shower daily. New Mom’s out there…it will NOT hurt your child to be in the pack n play or in the crib for 15mins while you shower!! I promise! Some may argue that with me, but I promise you, Ashton has yet to say to me, “Mommy, I’m very upset that you shower!” Ha!!!! I would laugh if he did say that. HA!

Third, the book, “I Would Trade My Husband For A Housekeeper,” sounds hysterical. Although I might “think” about that, I would never in a million years do it. But I honestly feel like I’m one of the lucky ones. I have a fabulous husband that would do anything in the world for me and our children. He has proven that time and time again, and I would never second guess his love for all of us. So thanks, “T,” I love you!!!

Forth, at the end of Oprah a woman in a lime green sweater commented on how there is a war between Mom’s. We are constantly judging one another, when we should NOT be doing this. She is so right on the money with this statement. Me included. I MUST STOP. You MUST STOP! We must ALL STOP this war. There is no right or wrong way to raise our children. What works for one, may or may not work for another. It is ok. It is ok that I SAHM with my kids and it is ok that my good friend is a very high up retail manager who sends her children to a fabulous school. She is taking care of her children and I am taking care of my children. So don’t judge. But in this same conversation with Oprah, another woman chimes in via Sykpe and mentions that it is more of a battle inside of the woman. I can’t agree with her more on this. I second guess almost every decision/choice I make. Why? We all know what is best for our families and there is NOBODY you have to defend yourself too, not even yourself.

Recently a few friends told me how overly protective they are of their children. That they worry about things to an extreme. I questioned myself. Why don’t I worry that much? Why am I comfortable with the decisions I make? Well it’s called human nature. I questioned myself for a short time, then brushed it off. It just isn’t me to worry about every little thing with my kids. I’m just not that person. But don’t get me wrong, I worry a lot. I worry about the dumbest things, I must say. Last weekend (just a few days after this conversation with my friends) I broke my Mom’s computer. I mean, really broke it. I’m not sure she’ll ever be able to turn the thing on again and have it work. Ugh! I was sick to my stomach over this. Sure, she doesn’t use the computer anymore, she let me borrow it to see if I wanted to buy it off her, but still. The thought of having to tell my Mom I did something that horrible, sickened me. So we all have our vices. My Mommy still loves me and she understands things happen.

So Mommy’s everywhere….follow these ladies on Oprah’s advice. Don’t sweat the small stuff. Don’t wonder if you are the only Mommy in the world that hasn’t had a shower in days, or forgot to feed your children dinner one night, don’t stress out what others will think of you if you chose to co-sleep or let your child cry it out. Because after all, YOU’RE NOT THE ONLY ONE!!!Remember, it is your life. Things will work out in the end. I promise. We will all make it through our rough points.

But please, come back and read my blog, because well I’m hoping to strike it rich like Heather did (HA!) and well I just may need to complain about my kids from time to time.

Lastly, I leave you with this, children are a blessing. We may be at our wits end from time to time, but hey just remember, at one point our parents were at their wits end with us. We will get through it….and if you need help, come to my blog, we’ll chat and have a glass of wine together 😉

3 Comments

  1. Monique-aka-Surferwife23 said,

    April 8, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    Great blog entry, Tara!!

  2. Tara said,

    April 8, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Thanks Monique 😉

  3. Stacey said,

    April 9, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    I’ll have to check out that Oprah episode online!


Leave a Reply

