Ethan’s 1st Birthday!!!

So I’m a planner right? Yes, you all know how organized I am. Well, I’ve had this birthday blog done for some time, but for some reason, it really just never seemed “right.” So when Ashton came in my room tonight, all of a sudden it clicked, and I jumped out of bed, and here I sit, blogging to the world, the Birth of my Baby Boy, Ethan!

Ethan, it’s been a year! And a fabulous year at that. You are your own little person. Mommy and Daddy knew you’d be one of a kind the day we first laid our eyes on you.

You were gorgeous. And just different. You were Ethan, and Ashton was Ashton. For some reason, this didn’t register in my little head while I was pregnant. For some reason, I always thought, you’d turn out just like AT and that would be that. Boy, was I wrong.

10 days go by, and my lovely and talented friends, Kristine and Sherilyn from Brinker-Freed Photography (2 of their masterpieces below), came over to do your very first photo shoot. If you are in the greater Tampa Bay Area, and need an onsite photographer, give these ladies a call! They both have twins, they are ultra fab with the kidos, and Sherilyn was the ONLY person that could make Ethan sleep in the 10 days of him being alive 😉 BTW, her girls are TTTS Survivors!

After a beautiful 10 days of being in awe with you, and knowing that you really do sleep, there was proof in the above photos, I knew you were meant to be in our family. Even with all our late nights together. Ethan, you just didn’t sleep for 6wks. Ok, so that had to do with GERD, but oh dear Lord, it was a LONG 6wks. For all of us.

At 6wks old, your Mommy, Daddy, and big brother decided to give back to the world. We walked in The March for Babies. We did this because of you! We did this because of Quinn. We wanted to spread the word on TTTS and we were there to help make that happen. Here you are, passed out, but at least you showed up! By the way, you had lots of supporters! Mommy’s wonderful friends Renea and Dave put this together for YOU. Aunt Dana, Uncle Joey, and Howie all walked for you too. See buddy, you are LOVED!

At 3 months old, I knew this blanket would be in your life forever. Auntie Aja bought this for you before you were even here, in our arms. She knew you needed a pooh bear, just as she has given a SUPER big one to Ashton. At one years old, you are still sleeping with this blanket tucked right up under your nose, and sucking your thumb…no more binkies for this big boy!

At 4mths old, it occurred to me, that Ashton will be your best friend for life. Sure, you’ll have your ups and downs with him, but this picture tells it all. Ashton looks out for you like no other in the world. He has a found a great bond with you that only brothers can share. We were on our first Family of 4, Family Vacation, Myrtle Beach 🙂

And well, this is just a cute picture, so I had to throw it in here…

At 5months old, I thought our lives flipped upside down. I had noticed for sometime that your head was rather flat on the back. You can thank Q for that, but hey, it made you into you 😉 So we went to the doctor, and a month later this is what we came home with! Your helmet was only step one, step two was PT for the next few months to help our neck (which we are still working on).
You wore your helmet for the next 5mths. I have to say, from day one, you were never bothered by it. In fact, I’m not even sure you ever knew it was on you. You wore it with pride, and now, your head is nice and round…just what Mommy and Daddy hoped for!

7mths comes around and you’re still not crawling. I’m not concerned, your brother didn’t crawl until he was 9 1/2 months. But you are starting to eat food, now this is where the fun begins.

At 8mths Popi and Mommy packed you boys up at 6pm one night and headed to PA to visit your Special-Gram, Great Grandma Gracie. This is Popi’s Mom, and boy oh boy did she fall in love with my two favorite boys. Both of you boys did fabulous on the 16hr car ride!

9months brings us to Christmas. Could you have been any cuter? Nah, didn’t think so!

Next is January, 10mths….omg, are you really ALMOST 1yo? Finally, we are making some progress. I think you want to crawl anytime now. So will ya already? This Mommy is getting antsy! No crawling, but we are now mastering our eating skills. All of a sudden, you stopped choking on your food…now that is a GREAT thing! oh, and 6 teeth in 6wks popped up. Honestly, I thought I was going to have to puree your food until you were a grown man.

Let the crawling begin! Ok, so it didn’t start until you were about 11 1/2 mths old, but it started. I knew you had it in you. You just wanted to wait this one out. Not only are you crawling…but in less than a week, you started pulling up. Watch out Mommy….this little boy is going to keep you on your toes for the rest of your life. And no, I have know photos of your new skill.

And because the sandwich shot was such a hit, here it is again 🙂 He is his father’s son!

And now, that brings us to today. Oh, don’t you worry son, the camera is charged and the pictures will be flashing.

Happy Birthday Ethan Michael. I hope you enjoyed this special entry all about you…then and now. Do I dare say, my son is turning into a toddler? Nah, not yet. Let’s hold off till your two ok? One is enough in this household. We love you, and we hope you have the BEST 1st BIRTHDAY, EVER! (ha!!! Think he’ll have another?)

ok, better go get my workout on before the fun begins!!!

6 Comments

  1. Gemma said,

    March 12, 2009 at 9:32 am

    aww that is beautiful Tara, happy first birthday Ethan

  2. Chris said,

    March 12, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    Happy First Birthday, little E!! Tara, I love that pic of him in the Mickey Mouse shirt :o)

  3. Hamilton Boys said,

    March 12, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Such a great story! I still cannot believe how amazing you look a month after his birth!!! Happy, Happy Birthday to E!

  4. Tara said,

    March 12, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Brooke, you are too nice! HA! I felt like a big WHALE!

  5. Stephanie said,

    March 12, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    What a beautiful entry Tara. Happy 1st Birthday Ethan!

  6. Monique said,

    March 12, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Happy Birthday Ethan!!


Leave a Reply

