2009

Gosh, does time ever fly. It seems like only yesterday I was graduating college and moving in with A and then meeting the man of my dreams. From there, as they say, is history.

I haven’t taken a single photo in the New Year, can you believe that? I know, neither can I. What is wrong with me?

However, I have been busy. On New Year’s Eve, I decide 2009 was the year for me. This is the year for me to set aside a little “Tara” time. I deserve it, right? So I joined a gym! Once upon a time, I enjoyed working out. Like about 10years ago. LOL! Then it was pushed aside for dating,courting, wedding planning, and starting a family. But now, I want to do it for me. I need the alone time, in my own thoughts and to push myself a little bit harder. So, I joined a gym that will take both kids for up to 2hours per day. Not bad, huh?

So today was day 3 at the gym. I got my first page over the intercom to come to the Kidsercise (Kids Gym). I go in, thinking Ethan would be in tears again because Mommy was gone (that is what happened yesterday, my poor kids have never been with strangers) and instead I find Ashton busted his lip open. Awww, my baby tripped over his Crocs. Wonder where he gets that from? I trip over mine all the time. I swear, those shoes are awful. In the height of his crying, he said, “but Mommy, I just want to go to the park (that is where I promised him we would go after the gym).” So here I was thinking I was going to have to leave the gym after only walking/running for 28mins, but instead I said, “oh, you still want to go to the park? Then Mommy has to finish her workout.” He agreed, and I went on my way.

So without going too much into me and my working out, I just wanted to brag for a moment on myself. I ran 2 whole miles! 2 miles. All by my lonesome. I’m pretty darn proud of that. It wasn’t easy, but I can’t say it was terribly difficult either. Maybe because I want this? Maybe because I’m ready? Maybe just because. But whatever the reasons are, I’ll take it.

I walked out of there standing tall and proud. So cheers to me today!

And most of all, cheers to my boys for letting Mommy have a little of that “me” time. I really need this!

2 Comments

  1. Sara said,

    January 6, 2009 at 2:34 am

    You are awesome! WTG Mama getting some “Me Time”!

  2. Colleen said,

    January 6, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    I’m very impressed! I couldn’t do .2 miles =)


Leave a Reply

