Thanks…

Well I never really thought of it this way…but my friend P told me to remember that her child has probably shared saliva at school with other kids. You’re right P. And Ethan probably has too (not at school but on playdates). Guess I was looking at it more like he was bit and there was a bigger chance of him contacting AIDS, but that probably isn’t the case. Saliva is saliva, and exchanges can be dangerous.

Moral of the story, if you have an infant who chews on anything or likes to lick things, be careful, because this could be you in the one year wait. UGH!!! All kids share spit so be careful, and it isn’t to say your kids will end up HIV positive…now tell my gut this ok?

1 Comment

  1. happyherbivore.com said,

    December 17, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    I’m NOT a MD but I think the issues of ‘contamination’ is saliva mixing with blood (i.e. kissing and the person transfers aids from her saliva to an open wound). Unless his skin was broken I don’t think you are at risk – not that you shouldn’t test him just to be sure.Unfortunatey, these things happen. Children bite other children.


Leave a Reply

