Homemade Baby Food!

Every now and then, I even amaze myself with my craftiness. HA! Since Ethan has been eating food, at 3mths, he has been blessed with 80% homemade food. I find that I love doing it, it is a rather simple process, and this way I can monitor exactly what goes into his body.At 3mths old (now 7 1/2mths), he was down to ONLY 18oz of formula a day. Not bad for a baby. But, on top of it, he was eating breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Check out what I’ve been doing.

Now for those of you wanting to save a dollar or two, check this out.

We are going to PA for a week, that means, I need 3 jars of food for 7 days. Which is 21 jars, in turn equals, $9.24. Not really that bad, right?
BUT, if you buy seasoned veggies, look at the savings….All squash on sale at at Walmart for 58cents a pound.

This is what I bought: (Squash in order of picture)
*Spaghetti Squash, 1.61lbs
*Acorn Squash, 1.43lbs
*Butternut Squash, 1.93lbs
totalling $2.90
The fresh stuff will last almost 3 wks with a little baby oatmeal mixed in, $1.43 a box (it takes about 2mths to go through one box). Not a bad deal for a little elbow grease huh? Oh yeah, and look at this baby?
He looks pretty pleased with Mommy’s work, and obviously he isn’t going hungry now is he?
Oh, had to throw in the Ashton photo (my 3yo), its just too cute not too šŸ™‚

Tara and crew!
2 Comments

  1. Brooke said,

    November 6, 2008 at 2:34 am

    That squash looks good, how did you do it?? Did Ashton get a haircut? What a cutie!

  2. preciousbaby said,

    November 6, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    I cooked all the squash in the microwave for about 20mins, cut in half length wise and about an inch of water in a dish, I covered with plastic wrap. Then I cut it all up in pieces and put it through the food processor. I also added 1/4 cup applesauce to each squash as it didn’t have enough water in it, YUMO!


Leave a Reply

